NewsCovering Colorado


County officials around southern Colorado are sworn in

Posted at 11:49 AM, Jan 08, 2019

Multiple public officials across southern Colorado took the oath of office Tuesday, marking some changes to countywide offices in our state.

In El Paso County, newly-elected county commissioners Holly Williams and  Cami Bremer were officially sworn in Tuesday morning in a ceremony at Centennial Hall in Colorado Springs.

Dr. Leon Kelly and Richard Mariotti were also sworn in for their first terms as El Paso County coroner and county surveyor.

County Sheriff Bill Elder, county recorder Chuck Broerman, county treasurer Mark Lowderman and county assessor Steve Schleiker also took their oaths of office after winning reelection.

In Pueblo County, Chris Wiseman officially replaced Sal Pace as county commissioner of the third district.

Wiseman previously served as Colorado State Fair General Manager. He defeated Republican newcomer Zach Swearingen.

All other elected countywide officials were incumbents.

Swearing in ceremony, Fremont County

Posted by Fremont County Sheriff's Office on Tuesday, January 8, 2019

In Fremont County, newly elected Sheriff Allen Cooper was sworn in on Tuesday morning.

Cooper takes over for interim sheriff Ty Martin, who replaced longtime Sheriff Jim Beicker. Beicker announced his resignation last July and officially stepped down on Aug. 28. Martin had previously served as the undersheriff for 15 years with Beicker.

Cooper won the election for Fremont County Sheriff with 61.25 percent of the vote, beating challengers Boyd Canterbury and Skip Moreau.