Stage 2 Fire Restrictions in effect for Pueblo County

Posted at 12:30 PM, Jun 25, 2018
and last updated 2018-06-25 14:30:39-04

Pueblo County Sheriff Kirk M. Taylor has instituted Stage 2 Fire Restrictions, effective immediately, for all unincorporated parts of the county following conversations with area fire chiefs.

Stage 2 restrictions prohibit the following:

  • All open burning
  • The sale or use of fireworks
  • Outdoor smoking except within an enclosed vehicle or building
  • Operating or using an internal combustion engine is not permitted on public lands without a spark arresting device properly installed, maintained and in effective working order.
  • Welding or operating acetylene or other similar torch with open flame unless said work is performed in an area at least 30 feet in diameter and is clear of flammable vegetation.

Violations of any of the fire restrictions can result in fines and mandatory court appearances. Those violating the restrictions can face fines up to $1,000.

In a release, Sheriff Taylor says,  "This is not a decision taken lightly, but with the extreme level of the drought conditions and lack of moisture, the responsible and safe thing to do is to impose Stage 2 restrictions right now.


Colorado Springs 

Manitou Springs

El Paso County

City of Pueblo

Forest Service

Teller County

BLM Lands

Canon City

Fremont County