NewsCovering Colorado


Pat Bowlen, Champ Bailey elected to Pro Football Hall of Fame

Posted at 3:19 PM, Feb 02, 2019
and last updated 2019-02-02 18:40:29-05

COLORADO – Beloved Broncos owner Pat Bowlen and former Broncos cornerback Champ Bailey have been elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

That’s according to reporting partner 9News in Denver.

The official announcement is expected to be made Saturday night.

This is the first time in Broncos history two members of the franchise have been elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in the same year.

Bowlen and Bailey now join quarterback John Elway, left tackle Gary Zimmerman, running backs Floyd Little and Terrell Davis, and tight end Shannon Sharpe in the Hall of fame.

Bowlen is the 15th principal owner to be elected and ranks among the top five all-time in wins among owners with 354 overall victories. He is the only owner to reach the Super Bowl with four different head coaches.

Under Bowlen, the Broncos have achieved 21 winning seasons, 19 playoff appearances, 13 division titles, nine conference championship births, seven Super Bowl appearances, and three World Championships.

Champ Bailey is the first defensive player in Broncos history to be elected to the Hall of Fame. He played 10 seasons with the Broncos, from 2004 to 2013. He also played five seasons with the Washington Redskins, from 1999 to 2003.

Bailey was selected to 12 Pro Bowls during his career, which ties for the third-most in history among defensive players. He is also a member of the 2000s NFL All-Decade Team.

Formal inductions will take place on August 3rd in Canton, Ohio.