NewsCovering Colorado


Officer Cem Duzel among honorees at CSPD Medal of Valor Luncheon

Ofc Cem Duzel Medal of Honor
Colorado Springs Police Medal of Valor Luncheon
Posted at 6:04 PM, Nov 18, 2019
and last updated 2021-06-23 08:39:40-04

COLORADO SPRINGS — Officer Cem Duzel returned to Colorado Springs to lead the Procession of Heroes at the annual Medal of Valor Luncheon at the Broadmoor.

Duzel is still recovering from a gunshot wound to the head suffered in the line of duty as he responded to a call for an armed man on Boulder St in August 2018. Duzel now lives in New York State where he continues his rehabilitation efforts.

He was awarded the Colorado Springs Police Department's Medal of Honor and Purple Heart. More than 800 people were on hand to show there support for his recovery.

The event honors Colorado Springs Police Officers who have shown extreme courage, bravery, and dedication.

Officer Duzel is among the 32 sworn officers recognized in this year's event lead by the Police Foundation of Colorado Springs. Learn more about Officer Duzel's service and recovery - click here.

"Events such as this is are critically important, not just for the officers who have gone above and beyond, but also for the community to be able to support the officers," said Kyle Hybl with the Police Foundation of Colorado Springs.

Medal of Valor Recipients

  • Sgt. Robert Wolf
  • Sgt. Keith Wrede
  • Corporal Ronnie Carter
  • Officer Jeremy Campbell
  • Officer Chris Fernandes
  • Officer Troy Kananen
  • Officer Brian Kelly
  • Officer Christopher Laabs
  • Officer Andrew Leeper
  • Former Officer Armando Newell
  • Officer Steven Pugsley
  • Officer Frederick Sunderlin
  • Officer Teresa Tomczyk
  • Officer Tracy Toth
  • Officer Kyle Vanderlinden
  • Officer Michael Walker
  • Officer William Wingert

Distinguished Service Award Recipients

  • Sgt. Christopher Arseneau
  • Officer Ryan Blank
  • Officer Alexander Colborn
  • Officer Kenneth Gatewood
  • Officer Matt Graham
  • Former Officer Nick Lesnansky
  • Officer Emily McBride
  • Officer Sean Medina
  • Officer Vijay Seenath
  • Officer Jeremy Sheldon
  • Officer Phil Strevett
  • Officer Patrick Taylor
  • Officer Peter Tomitsch
  • Officer Matt Waldera