Some new laws went into effect on July 1st, and the unattended campfire ban is just one among many.
Leaving a campfire unattended in a forested or grassland area means you can now be issued a $750 fine and a maximum sentence of 6 months imprisonment per the new Colorado law.
The bill comes as numerous wildfires are burning throughout Colorado.
Other new laws include:
A bill directing peace officers to remove a person from a residential premise if the owner swears that the person does not have authority to be there. Click here for details.
A bill criminalizing an act of false reporting to authorities that includes a false report of an imminent threat to the safety of a person or persons by use of a deadly weapon. Click Here for details.
A bill clarifying the scope of "revenge pornography" crimes. Click here for details.
A bill establishing a definition of "competent to proceed" and "incompetent to proceed" for juveniles involved in the justice system.Click here for details.