Primary Election: Race for Colorado Governor

Posted at 3:10 PM, Jun 26, 2018
and last updated 2018-06-26 17:10:40-04

As Colorado Governor John Hickenlooper serves out the remainder of his last term, the race is on for candidates to win their party’s nomination for the November Gubernatorial election.

Primary voters statewide weighed in on their choice of either 4 Democrats or 4 Republicans running for office. Earlier this year, there were more than a dozen candidates in this race before some dropped out and others failed to gather enough signatures to be included on the ballot.

On the Democrat side:

Cary Kennedy – Served as State Treasurer from 2007-2011, former Deputy Mayor and Chief Financial Officer for Denver.
Donna Lynne – Serves as the current Lieutenant Governor of Colorado since 2016. Previously served in New York City Government before moving to Colorado more than a decade ago.
Jared Polis – Serves in U.S. Congress representing Colorado’s 2nd congressional district since 2009. Previously served on the State Board of Education and ran several businesses.
Michael Johnston – Served in the Colorado Senate representing District 33 (Northeast Denver) from 2009 until 2017.

On the Republican side:

Greg Lopez – Former Mayor of Parker, Colorado and director for the U.S. Small Business Administration in Colorado.
Victor Mitchell – Businessman and former Colorado State Representative for House District 45 (Teller County and southern Douglas County)
Doug Robinson – Retired investment banker and nonprofit founder. This is his first political campaign.
Walker Stapleton – Former investment banker and current Colorado State Treasurer.

Visit KOAA’s Election Watch page for election night results