No. 9 ThunderWolves set to host Augustana in home playoff game

Posted at 10:43 PM, Nov 21, 2019

PUEBLO — The No. 9 Colorado State University-Pueblo football team is set to host Augustana University, Saturday, Nov. 23 at 1 p.m. in round one of the 2019 NCAA Division II Playoffs.

The ThunderWolves are hosting a playoff game at the Neta and Eddie DeRose ThunderBowl for the first time since 2015.

"I am excited," said senior linebacker Kyle Rosenbrock. "This is what we have wanted in my four years of playing here."

The Pack have never played Augustana University (9-2) in program history. The last time the Vikings made the Division II Playoffs was 2015.

"It is about us getting better and sharpening our edge," explained head coach John Wristen when asked about the Vikings. "(We need to) find our edge and make sure we elevate our game and then some."

The ThunderWolves are making their third consecutive appearance in the NCAA Division II postseason. It marks the seventh time since 2011 the Pack are in the playoffs.

"They are going to be a good team," explained sophomore running back Marcus Lindsay. "They are going to be well coached. They are going to be big like brutes. We have talent, we have heart. We are men just like them. So it comes down to who has it in them and wants it more."

Tickets are on sale now and are $20 for chairback seats and $15 for reserved seating. ThunderHill tickets will be sold for $9. A senior discount (55+) is available for $12 for the chairback and reserved sections. Children 5 and under are free, while a student ticket will be available for K-12 at the price of $5. College students will be $5, but the first 300 CSU-Pueblo students to pick up their ticket at the CSU-Pueblo Athletics Office in Massari Arena will be free. The free tickets come courtesy of the Associated Students' Government.

Fans can purchase tickets by visiting the Massari Arena Ticket Office, calling (719) 549-2050 or by going online (CSU-P Fans) here - The Massari Arena Ticket Office will be open Monday-Friday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.