Colorado's six incumbent members of US House of Representatives win re-election

Mitsch Bush concedes to Boebert in 3rd Congressional District
Posted at 10:02 PM, Nov 03, 2020

DENVER – Colorado’s six incumbent members of the House of Representatives who were up for re-election in Tuesday’s General Election handily won their races, with the 3rd Congressional District race still too close to call as of 9:30 p.m. Tuesday.

Rep. Diana DeGette, the Democratic representative for Colorado’s 1st Congressional District, was declared the winner shortly after polls closed. As of Tuesday night, with 68% of precincts reporting, DeGette led Republican Shane Bolling (22%) and Libertarian Kyle Furey (2%).

MORE: Live updates: Colorado votes in the 2020 General Election

In the 2nd Congressional District, incumbent Democratic Rep. Joe Neguse was beating Republican Charlie Winn 63% to 35%, with 2% of the vote for Libertarian Thom Atkinson.

“Serving in the U.S. House has truly been the honor of my life, and while I’m proud of everything we’ve accomplished, there is still so much work to do,” Neguse said in a statement. “I look forward to continuing our work together to lower healthcare costs, combat climate change and recover from the terrible wildfires our community has experienced, recover from the COVID-19 pandemic, and more.

In the 4th Congressional District, incumbent Republican Rep. Ken Buck, who is also currently the Colorado GOP chairman, defeated Democrat Ike McCorkle 60%-30% as of 9:40 p.m., with 83% of precincts reporting.

"This election cycle, Coloradans faced unprecedented challenges and obstacles and met them head on at every turn. I am very proud of the work that our volunteers, activists, and team across the state did to mobilize a historic number of voters to turnout and participate in this year's election,” Buck said in a statement.

In Colorado’s 5th Congressional District, incumbent Republican Rep. Doug Lamborn won another term, defeating Democrat Jillian Freeland 57%-39%, with Libertarian Ed Duffett garnering about 3% of the vote.

6th Congressional District incumbent Rep. Jason Crow, D-Colo., also won re-election, defeating former Colorado GOP Chairman Steve House 58%-40%, with 81% of precincts reporting.

“It is an honor to once again serve the people of Colorado. When I first ran for Congress, I believed our country needed a new generation of leadership. We needed leaders in Congress who would work to protect and improve our access to health care, stand united with our immigrant communities, take action on gun violence, address the climate crisis and so much more,” Crow said in a statement.

“While the results did not come out the way we wanted, the race itself gave us a chance to really get to know people in the district and we were able to define solutions that will be good for the people who live here,” House said in a statement.

And Rep. Ed Perlmutter, the Democratic incumbent in Colorado’s 7th Congressional District, also won re-election, defeating Republican Casper Stockham 60%-37%, with 89% of precincts reporting.

Rifle restaurateur and Republican political newcomer Lauren Boebert will be Colorado’s next 3rd Congressional District congresswoman after her Democratic opponent Diane Mitsch Bush conceded just after midnight Wednesday morning.

Boebert declared victory in a Facebook Live video late Tuesday, though the Associated Press, which Denver7 relies on for race calls, had not called the race for Boebert.

In the video, Boebert thanked her supporters and said it was “an incredible honor and privilege” to win the race and become the “first mom” to serve the district.

Just after midnight, Mitsch Bush conceded in a statement by thanking her supporters, staff and volunteers.

“The voters have spoken. I did not get enough votes to win,” she wrote in the statement. “…Let’s remember that so much more unites us than divides us.”

As of 1:30 a.m. Wednesday, Boebert led Mitsch Bush 51%-46%, with 90% of precincts reporting.