NewsCovering Colorado

Actions

Semis without chains become stuck, block Highway 50 in Fremont County

Default-Image_1280x720.png
Posted at 11:19 AM, Oct 28, 2019
and last updated 2019-10-28 13:19:19-04

FREMONT COUNTY — According to Colorado State Patrol out of Florence, a semi truck driver is charged with "knowingly and recklessly" obstructing a highway after he tried to squeeze by a stuck semi on Highway 50. The photos show the flatbed truck hauling fencing almost in the middle of the road. State Patrol says the truck did not have chains or any other adequate traction measures.

The driver of the rig hauling a box trailer attempted to pass on the right, but became wedged between the flatbed and the guardrail. This truck also did not have chains or any other adequate traction measures.

As a result, Highway west of Cañon City was closed for an extended period of time this morning.

Here's a helpful reminder about traction law and passenger vehicle chain law in Colorado, straight from CDOT.

Traction Law (Code 15)During an active Traction Law (also known as a Code 15), motorists must have either snow tires, tires with the mud/snow (M+S) designation, or a four-wheel/all-wheel drive vehicle.

Starting Aug. 2, 2019, the legislation updated requirements for drivers using state highways during winter months. Specifically, it changed the required minimum tire tread for vehicles on snowy roads to 3/16 of an inch. You can also install chains or an alternative traction device (like AutoSock) to be in compliance with the law if your tires aren't adequate.

From Sept. 1 to May 31, the Traction Law is active on I-70 from Dotsero to Morrison. All vehicles must carry traction law equipment or be traction law compliant on this 126-mile stretch.

Passenger Vehicle Chain Law (Code 16)During severe winter storms, CDOT will implement a Passenger Vehicle Chain Law (also known as a Code 16). This is the final safety measure before the highway is closed.

When the Passenger Vehicle Chain Law is in effect, every vehicle on the roadway must have chains or an alternative traction device (like AutoSock).

Fines

  • Motorists driving with inadequate equipment when a Passenger Vehicle Traction Law or Chain Law is in effect could be fined more than $130.
  • If a motorist blocks the roadway because he/she has inadequate equipment when a Passenger Vehicle Traction Law or Chain Law is in effect, he/she could be fined more than $650.

RELATED:

New traction law now in place on I-70, CDOT breaks down requirements, fines