NewsCovering Colorado


Fireworks restrictions lifted for unincorporated El Paso County

Fireworks in El Paso County
Drought Monitor
Posted at 10:25 AM, Jun 01, 2021

EL PASO COUNTY — While an outright ban of fireworks is no longer in effect for unincorporated areas of El Paso County, there are restrictions on the types of fireworks allowed.

The following fireworks are still illegal in El Paso County:

• Bottle rockets
• Any firework that explodes
• Mortars
• Roman candles
• Fountains
• Ground spinners
• Smoke Bombs
• Sparklers

Violators may be punished by a fine of up to $750.00, and/or imprisonment for up to six months.

"Trick noise makers” are not classified as fireworks and are not prohibited by the fireworks statutes. Trick noise makers include:

• Snaps (small paper wads that are thrown on the ground)
• Champagne poppers (pull string and they launch colored paper)
• Pull string poppers (small 2” paper tube with a string from each end)

If you have any questions about this order, contact the El Paso County Sheriff's Office non-emergency number (719) 390-5555.

Similar restrictions are also in place year-round for Colorado Springs, Monument, and Fountain.