NewsCovering Colorado


Executive order gives Colorado tenants more time to pay, eliminates late fees

Renter's rights and responsibilities informational session
Posted at 12:52 PM, Jun 14, 2020
and last updated 2020-06-14 14:54:25-04

DENVER — Colorado tenants struggling to pay rent amid the current economic downturn caused by the COVID-19 outbreak are getting more breathing room.

Gov. Jared Polis signed an executive order Saturday that provides tenants 30 days’ notice of any default for nonpayment of rent, during which time the tenant has the opportunity to pay the past-due amount and cure the default.

It also prohibits landlords from assessing late fees or penalties due to nonpayment incurred from May 1 until June 13.

The order temporarily suspends regulations that only required landlords to provide a 10-day notice for nonpayment of rent.

The order also encourages landlords to accept rental payments from those impacted by financial hardship due to COVID-19.

“Through this Executive Order, I encourage landlords to take steps to limit evictions for tenants who have made a good faith effort to make rental payments or who have made a good faith effort to establish a repayment agreement, and I direct the Department of Local Affairs (DOLA) to work with COVID-impacted landlords and tenants to create reasonable payment plans that allow tenants to remain in their residences while we return Coloradans to work safely,” Polis wrote in the order.

Polis has been under pressure by some municipalities to take steps to limit evictions as the coronavirus outbreak shut down businesses and put hundreds of thousands out of work. But the governor has maintained that his office does not have the legal ability to suspend rent or evictions outright.

While Saturday’s executive order does not relieve tenants from their obligations, many struggling to pay rent amid the crisis may see some relief from the measure.