NewsCovering Colorado


El Paso Co. Sheriff's Office announces new targeted traffic enforcement areas

Posted at 4:18 PM, Aug 11, 2020

EL PASO COUNTY — Tuesday, the El Paso County Sheriff's Office (EPCSO) announced a new traffic enforcement initiative.

The EPCSO in conjunction with regional Public Safety partners is again launching the Targeted Traffic Enforcement Initiative across El Paso County.

The initiative is in response to the number of traffic fatalities this year.

The EPCSO said the targeted areas were identified using past complaints, current complaints, information obtained from community partners, and the Colorado State Patrol.

The following enforcement areas are considered zero-tolerance for moving violations:

District 1:
Baptist Road
Gleneagle Drive
County Line Road Highway 83 to Highway 105

District 2:
Black Forest from Hodgen Road to Burgess Road

District 3:
Highway 24 from Powers Boulevard to Garrett Road
Gem Streets
Palmer Park East of Powers Boulevard.

District 4:
Highway 24 from Falcon Highway to Elbert Road
Meridian Road from Hodgen Road to Woodmen Road
Curtis from Highway 94 to Jones Road

District 5:
Security Boulevard
Main Street
Bradley Road from Powers Boulevard to South Meridian (overlap with District 4)

District 6:
Fontaine Boulevard from Highway 85/87 to Marksheffell Road
Boca Raton Heights from Rancho Colorado to El Valley View

District 7:
Crestridge Drive
B Street

District 8:
Chipita Park Road
West Colorado from 31st to Manitou Avenue

The EPCSO said the community can expect to see highly visible and proactive law enforcement in the targeted areas, with the goal of creating a deterrence and changing unlawful, dangerous, and deadly traffic behaviors.

You can find more information on the Targeted Traffic Enforcement Initiative here: