DENVER – Law enforcement agencies across Colorado will begin a six-day seat belt enforcement campaign in rural parts of the state starting Monday.
During the spring Click It or Ticket period last year police cited 1.279 people for not buckling up.
The Colorado Department of Transportation says seat belt use statewide is 86 percent, 36th in the nation and below the national average of 90 percent. In 2018 five of the six counties with the lowest seat belt use in Colorado were rural.
CDOT also says last year 215 unbuckled drivers and passengers died in crashes in Colorado, out of 410 total passenger vehicle deaths.
This is the first of three Click It or Ticket enforcement periods in 2019.
Fines for not wearing seat belts in Colorado start at $65 and those caught with an improperly restrained child may face a minimum fine of $82.