NewsCovering Colorado


Rep. Tipton announces service academy nominations

Posted at 9:02 PM, Feb 08, 2019
and last updated 2019-02-08 23:02:06-05
US Service Academies
Seals of the U.S. Service Academies

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Representative Scott Tipton (R-3rd District) announced the names of 26 students from Colorado’s Third Congressional District who received nominations to a Service Academy.

They were selected based on meeting or exceeding the requirements of the respective academy.

Tipton calls nominating young men and women to the acadmies one of the greatest honors of his job. “The 26 students nominated are some of the best and brightest in Colorado, and I am sure that they will have successful careers as officers should they be accepted into the academies,” he said. “We are fortunate to have such accomplished and hardworking individuals in the Third District, and I could not be more proud of them for answering the call to serve our nation.”

More information on how students in the Third District can apply to the academies is available on Tipton’s website. Students in other districts interested in applying can contact their Representatives, or U.S. Senators.

The complete list of nominations follows. Names marked with (*) were nominated to more than one academy.

United States Air Force Academy

  • Rachel Shaffer – Rye, CO
  • Garth Knutson – Cedaredge, CO
  • Connor Voss* – Beulah, CO
  • Jake Chaffetz – Grand Junction, CO
  • Dylan Martinez – Grand Junction, CO
  • Tom Engleby – Edwards, CO
  • Ryan Collins – Avon, CO
  • Tai Kim – Carbondale, CO
  • Nathaniel Romero – Pueblo, CO
  • Paul Farrah* – Pagosa Springs, CO

Naval Academy

  • Caroline Knight – Durango, CO
  • Connor Cook*- Carbondale, CO
  • Alma Wolf – Durango, CO
  • MacKenzie Younker – Grand Junction, CO
  • Jessie Mello – Grand Junction, CO
  • Esperenza Antonarez* – Gunnison, CO
  • Riley Fuchs – Durango, CO
  • Jacob Hemard* – Palisade, CO
  • Kaleb Teetsel – Grand Junction, CO
  • Shoshana Vigil*– Delta, CO

West Point

  • Jordan Tillman – Pueblo, CO
  • Connor Voss* – Beulah, CO
  • Laura Niichel* – Pueblo, CO
  • Paul Farrah* – Pagosa Springs, CO
  • Jacob Hemard* – Palisade, CO
  • Gaige Graham – Pueblo West, CO
  • Noah Grady – Pueblo West, CO
  • Winter Boese – Clark, CO
  • Jeremiah Garcia* – Pueblo, CO

Merchant Marine

  • Connor Cook*– Carbondale, CO
  • Jeremiah Garcia* – Pueblo, CO
  • Shoshana Vigil*– Delta, CO
  • Esperenza Antonarez* – Gunnison, CO
  • Laura Niichel* – Pueblo, CO