None of the champs on 'Jeopardy! The Greatest of All Time' could answer this question about the Oscars

Posted at 9:48 AM, Jan 10, 2020

"Jeopardy! The Greatest of All Time" wrapped up its third night Thursday as game show alums Ken Jennings, Brad Rutter and James Holzhauer competed to be the ultimate champion of champions.

But while these previous "Jeopardy!" contestants are well-known for their sweeping knowledge, they were actually stumped by the second Final Jeopardy question Thursday night. And people on social media were elated to report that they actually knew something the GOAT champs did not.

Evidently, Jennings, Rutter and Holzhauer don't have in-depth knowledge of the Academy Awards.

The category was "21st Century Oscar Winners." The answer they were given was: "These 2 foreign-born directors have each won 2 Best Director Oscars, but none of their films has won Best Picture."

None of the contestants got the question correct. But lots of people on Twitter did.

"It sounds like I would've beat the 3 geniuses in this special JEOPARDY tournament, all of whom whiffed on a Final Jeopardy question that I actually knew!" Jeff Sneider said on Twitter.

Another Twitter user, Claire Di Maio, was also pleased to report that she knew something the GOATs did not.

"I do not like to brag, but I’d like to make an exception: tonight I knew both answers to the two-part, Oscars-related Final Jeopardy question this evening and none of the GOAT champions knew it," she said on Twitter.

You can see more of the hilarious responses below.

So what's the answer? The Oscar-winning directors are Mexico’s Alfonso Cuaron ("Roma" and "Gravity") and Taiwan’s Ang Lee ("Life of Pi" and "Brokeback Mountain").

The tournament, which pits the three biggest money winners in the show's history against each other, is the first network primetime airing of "Jeopardy!" since 1990.

Host Alex Trebek and the three contestants keep playing until one GOAT wins three matches.

The first to win three matches receives $1 million and the title of "Jeopardy! The Greatest of All Time." The two non-winners will each receive $250,000.

The competition continues at 8 p.m. EST on Tuesday, January 14 on ABC.