Scripps News Life


35 Countries Have Banned Travelers From The US

35 Countries Have Banned Travelers From The US
Posted at 1:00 PM, Jul 21, 2020

On March 31, the Department of State issued a global level 4 health advisory, recommending that all U.S. citizens avoid travel to any international destination, due to the impact of COVID-19. Additionally, all U.S. citizens abroad were told to return to the U.S. as soon as possible.

That advice hasn’t changed, and even if you are inclined to travel abroad, there’s a chance you won’t be able to.

As of July 22, at least 35 countries have banned travelers from the U.S. These include the 27 countries in the European Union, China, Canada, Mexico, India, Japan, the Bahamas and New Zealand. The U.K. is allowing visitors from the U.S. to enter, but they must self-isolate for 14 days upon arrival.

The European Union, which includes France, Germany, Italy and Spain, opened to visitors on July 1 after months of coronavirus lockdowns. However, the U.S. didn’t make the list of 14 countries allowed entry, in order to reduce the risk of COVID spikes.

On July 16, the EU extended the ban on U.S. travelers, which will be reviewed every two weeks.


The Bahamas is the latest country to refuse entry to U.S. travelers on commercial flights and boats, although people arriving on private planes and boats will still be accepted. According to the Associated Press, this decision was prompted by a surge of cases on the island after international travel was reinstated on July 1.

In the countries that do allow U.S. travelers, various levels of restrictions are in place. For instance, Jamaica is allowing leisure travelers from the U.S., but if you’re traveling from Arizona, Florida, New York or Texas, you must present a negative COVID-19 test within 10 days of your arrival.

And all travelers to Jamaica must apply in advance for a Jamaican COVID travel authorization, a personalized same-day health risk assessment. Those arriving from high-risk locations and those showing symptoms will be tested on arrival and go into quarantine if necessary.

India and New Zealand remain closed to all foreign travelers, including visitors from the U.S.

For more information about international travel, visit the Department of State website.

This story originally appeared on Simplemost. Checkout Simplemost for additional stories.