Deputies, employees and citizens receive awards in Pueblo County - KOAA.com | Continuous News | Colorado Springs and Pueblo

Deputies, employees and citizens receive awards in Pueblo County

Posted: Updated:

Three deputies, several employees and some local citizens received awards for outstanding service from Pueblo County Sheriff Kirk M. Taylor.

The 12th Annual Pueblo County Sheriff's Award banquet was held at Pueblo Community College last Friday night. The awards were based on each individuals dedication to the office over the past year. 

Each of the three deputies were awarded the highest award in law enforcement, the Medal of Valor. The award is presented for "an act of outstanding bravery or heroism performed with selflessness, courage and devotion to duty."

“The actions of these deputies were truly heroic. They acted without regard for their own safety while protecting their fellow deputies and the citizens of Pueblo County,” said Sheriff Kirk M. Taylor. “I am honored and proud to award them with the distinguished Medal of Valor for their exceptional courage, selflessness and dedication to serving this community.”

The three deputies honored were Deputy Robert Garbiso, Detective Charles Roldan, and Deputy Charles McWhorter. 

Deputy Garbiso was given the award for his actions on March 3, 2017 during an incident where an inmate had to be disarmed after he took a taser from another deputy during an attempted escape at Pueblo County Jail. Deputies say Garbiso heard the struggle and intercepted, despite being hit with the taser he was able to gain control over the inmate and take him into custody, preventing additional harm to other jail personnel or inmates and an attempted escape. 

Detective Roldan and Deputy McWhorter were given the award for their bravery on August 21, 2017, while attempting to apprehend a bank robbery suspect at a mobile home, who eventually pulled out a handgun. Both deputies fired their weapon to stop the suspect from harming them, and any other residents in the home, along with the citizens of Pueblo County.

A plaque including each of the officers photos will be forever placed in the Pueblo County Sheriff's Office Hall of Valor.

Several employees, citizens and units were awarded for their for service as well. 

“I am proud of the outstanding effort all our employees put forth each day for the Pueblo County Sheriff’s Office,” said Sheriff Kirk M. Taylor. “But tonight I want to recognize several of our exceptional employees, who have demonstrated through their character, professionalism and actions, a commitment to our motto “Service Over Self.” I am also proud to honor several remarkable citizens, who through their willingness to take action, help make Pueblo County a better place to live.”

Lieutenant David Black was awarded 'Law Enforcement Officer of the Year. The lieutenant is a veteran patrol deputy, and was honored for his concern and caring attitude for the well-being of fellow deputies, staff and the citizens of the community. 

Sergeant Jeremy Cardona was awarded 'Detention Officer of the Year.' He was honored as "true professional" for his ability to impact all around him positively, showcasing a strong work ethic, being thorough, dependable and a respected mentor and trainer.

Jamie Reigenborn was awarded 'Emergency Services Member of the Year.' She is a veteran communications officer in the Pueblo County Sheriff's 911 Communication Center. She was awarded for being reliable, calm, focused and dedicated to her duties.

Michelle Zamora was awarded 'Non-Uniformed Member of The Year.' Zamora is a criminal justice records technician, she was recognized for her dependability, consistency and improving the quality of work produced on bonds and other related court matters.

Daryl Espinoza was awarded 'Volunteer of the Year.' He is a volunteer with the Emergency Services Bureau, accumulating more than 325 volunteer hours 2017. He is noted for being reliable and always willing to help while being an inspiration to others.

Units awarded were the Detention Training Officers, made up of 27 members who are responsible for training new deputies and criminal justice record technicians. The Investigations Unit continued working two homicides from 2016 into 2017, including following up on leads, multiple search warrants and examined hundreds of pages of social media documents.

Lastly, three citizens were awarded the 'Citizens of the Year' award. Marty Rahl, Dawn Cortese and Brooke Douglas were recognized for their alertness and willingness to contact the Sheriff's Office, their reporting of activities assisted in identifying and apprehending criminals in two separate incidents. Cortese was honored for her quick-thinking and actions saving another person's life after a call fell on him.

Drive the Doppler
Powered by Frankly

© KOAA.com 2018, KOAA.com
All rights reserved
Privacy Policy, | Terms of Service, and Ad Choices

Can't find something?