Election Watch: 14 vying for six council seats in COS - KOAA.com | Continuous News | Colorado Springs and Pueblo

Election Watch: 14 vying for six council seats in COS

Posted: Updated:

All six district seats for Colorado Springs City Council are up for grabs in the municipal election on April 4th.  The majority of city council seats could change hands. Four incumbents are running for re-election, and ten new faces are vying for voter support. The three other council seats are at-large.

Constituents are searched for their ideal candidate at a community forum on Monday evening. "Somebody that's really committed to Colorado Springs and its growth," said voter Julia McCullum. "Fostering businesses coming into the city but making sure that the infrastructure is taken care of as well."

Current council members Don Knight, Helen Collins, Jill Gaebler and Andres Pico are running for re-election in their respective districts. Former council President from district three, Keith King, is not seeking re-election. Neither is Larry Bagley in district two. 

Candidates addressed a variety of issues important to their constituents, from taxes to infrastructure and affordable housing.

"The fiscal responsibility in the city to keep costs down for residents, provide good services and fix our roads, which the sales tax is supposed to do," said voter Dan Noel.

"I'm getting very tired of our rental rates, commercial and living aspects going through the roof so people can't afford to live here," said a voter by the name of Cowboy.

City council members also serve as the Utilities Board and are paid a stipend of $6,250 per year. Ballots will be mailed to registered voters between March 10th and 20th. Candidates will appear in this order on your ballot:

District 1 

  • Don Knight (incumbent)
  • Greg Basham

District 2 

  • David Geislinger

District 3 

  • Richard Skorman
  • Chuck Fowler

District 4 

  • Helen Collins (incumbent)
  • Yolanda L Avila
  • Deborah L Hendrix

District 5 

  • Jill Gaebler (incumbent)
  • Lynette Crow-Iverson

District 6 

  • Melanie Bernhardt
  • Andres G Pico (incumbent)
  • Robert M Burns
  • Janak Joshi

New council district boundaries were drawn last year, so your district may have changed. Make sure you're researching the right candidates by searching your address. There are also three issues on the April ballot.

Top Trending Videos

Drive the Doppler
Powered by Frankly

© KOAA.com 2018, KOAA.com
All rights reserved
Privacy Policy, | Terms of Service, and Ad Choices

Can't find something?