Sports - Air Force

Feb 26, 2011 3:12 AM

Walker wins prestigious Bullard Award

U.S. AIR FORCE ACADEMY, Colo. - Senior fullback Nathan Walker won the Brian Bullard Memorial Award, the highest honor a Falcon football player can earn, at the annual Air Force Football banquet at the Broadmoor Hotel in Colorado Springs.

Walker helped the Falcons finish the season with a 9-4 overall record. Air Force was third in the Mountain West Conference with a 5-3 mark and earned a bid to the 2010 Advocare V100 Independence Bowl where the team defeated Georgia Tech, 14-7, to earn a second straight bowl win.

Walker finished fourth on the team in rushing with 470 yards, averaging 4.6 yards per carry. He was second on the team in rushing touchdowns with six. Walker, who played in every game, started the last six games of the season. He rushed for a career-best 109 yards and a touchdown against Army to post the first 100-yard game of his career. He also picked up a key third-and-21 with a 21-yard run to set up an Air Force touchdown. The 21-yard run was voted on as one of the top 10 plays of the year by the football support staff. Walker added 95 yards and a touchdown the following week against New Mexico.

A native of Colorado Springs, Walker graduated from Colorado Springs Christian School where he lettered four years in football and two each in track and wrestling. He is headed to Vance Air Force Base, Okla., following graduation for undergraduate pilot training.

The Bullard Award, established in 1984 and voted on by the football team, is based on the criteria that typifies the late Brian Bullard - unselfishness, 110 percent effort, total team commitment and pride in his role on the team whether he's a starter or not. Bullard was a 1982 graduate of Air Academy High School in Colorado Springs. He attended the Academy the following year and played on the football team for two years. During Thanksgiving vacation in 1983, Bullard and his girlfriend, fellow cadet Dianne Williams, died from carbon monoxide poisoning while returning from a trip to Kansas in a snow storm.

Brian Bullard Memorial Award Winners
2010 Nathan Walker
2009 Ben Garland
2008 Shea Smith
2007 Drew Fowler, Garrett Rybak
2006 Gilberto Perez
2005 Denny Poland
2004 John Rudzinksi
2003 Monty Coleman, Joe Schieffer
2002 Tom Heier
2001 Zach Johnson
2000 Nate Beard, Matt Dayoc, Mike Gallagher
1999 Charlie Jackson
1998 Mike Tyler
1997 Chris Gizzi
1996 Lee Gutherie
1995 Brandon Wilkerson
1994 Steve Russ
1993 Will McCombs
1992 Grant Johnson
1991 Kette Dornbush
1990 Bill Price
1989 Lance McDowell
1988 Anthony Roberson
1987 Rip Burgwald
1986 Pat Evans
1985 Pat Malackowski
1984 Steve Kelly




»Topics in this article

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4