Dec 2, 2009 10:27 PM

Nominations being taken for "Sportswomen of Colorado" awards

Sportswomen of Colorado is accepting nominations until December 21, 2009 for its annual Sportswomen of Colorado awards honoring female athletes and individuals who have contributed to girls' and women's athletics in Colorado.

Award winners will be honored at the 36th Annual Sportswomen of Colorado banquet to be held Sunday, March 7, 2010 at the Marriott Hotel in Southeast Denver. A 2009 Sportswoman of the Year will be selected from the nominees and announced at the banquet that drew over 600 attendees last year.

Nominations forms are available online at or by calling 303-331-0376. Nominations are accepted for individual athletes, teams, coaches, mentors and persons demonstrating exceptional courage, leadership or inspiration during the 2009 calendar year. Previous award winners are eligible for continued recognition. Three-time winners are inducted to the Colorado Sportswomen Hall of Fame.

Past winners of the Sportswoman of the Year include Dorothy Hamill, Connie Carpenter Phinney, Amy Van Dyken, Jill McGill and Ceal Barry and the 1989 Lady Buff's basketball team.

Proceeds from the banquet are used to help promote girls' athletics across Colorado with a majority of the funds used to provide summer sports camp scholarships for economically disadvantaged girls ages 9 - 13.

For more information, visit or contact Joan Birkland, Sportswomen of Colorado, 100 S. Madison St. Suite 3B, Denver, CO 80209-3018.



»Topics in this article

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4