Sep 10, 2009 7:49 PM by Jessica Michaels

Medal of Valor bestowed on local hero

Colorado Springs police officers gathered at the Broadmoor Thursday for the 24th annual Medal of Valor luncheon. The Medal of Valor is awarded to any police officer who demonstrates "extraordinary heroism at imminent risk of serious bodily injury." It is the department's highest honor.

This year Officer Ryan Jacobsen received the award. He earned the distinction for his heroic actions during an armed burglary in May.

Colt Haugen, a waiter at a local restaurant, was also recognized at the luncheon. He received the Citizen of Distinction Award for his role in preventing harm to diner.

Ten officers received the Distinguished Service Award. The Distinguished Service Award is also given to any individual that displays courage when faced with imminent risk of serious injury. The honorees include: Sgt. James Jeffcoat, Officer Daniel Thompson, Sgt. Ronald Sheppard, Officer Robert McCafferty, Sgt. Robert Weber, Officer Carlos Sandoval, Officer Paul Malchow, Officer Phillip Strevett, Officer Sydney Huffman, and Officer Andrew Leeper.



»Topics in this article

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4