Mar 15, 2011 1:20 AM by Lee Douglas

Lysacek wins Sullivan Award

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (AP) - Olympic figure skating champion Evan Lysacek won the 2010 Sullivan Award as the top amateur athlete in the United States.

Lysacek also won the USOC Sportsman of the Year award earlier this year.

The other Sullivan finalists were water skier Regina Jacquess, University of Nevada basketball player Tahnee Robinson, University of Arkansas football player DJ Williams and baton twirler Karrissa Wimberley of the University of Georgia.

The Sullivan Award has been handed out since 1930 to the most outstanding U.S. amateur athlete of the year based on athletic accomplishments, leadership skills, character and sportsmanship.

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)




»Topics in this article

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4