Oct 9, 2012 8:03 AM by Garrett Boyd

Haroche, Wineland win Nobel physics prize

BOULDER, Colo. (AP) - Frenchman Serge Haroche and American David Wineland have won the 2012 Nobel Prize in physics.

Wineland is a physicist at the National Institute of Standards and Technology in Boulder, Colo.

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences cited the two scientists Tuesday "for ground-breaking experimental methods that enable measuring and manipulation of individual quantum systems."

This year's Nobel Prize announcements got under way Monday with the medicine prize going to stem cell pioneers John Gurdon of Britain and Japan's Shinya Yamanaka. Each award is worth 8 million kronor, or about $1.2 million.



Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4