Mar 4, 2010 7:28 PM by Greg Boyce

Government to honor WASPs

Ten women from Colorado will be honored with the Congressional Gold Medal for their service during World War II as Women Airforce Service Pilots, or WASPs, at a March 10 ceremony at the United States Capitol. Nearly 70 years since their World War II service, they will be honored for the first time for their trailblazing efforts as the first civilian female pilots to fly military aircraft under the direction of the United States Army Air Forces. Of the group of 1,102 WASP, fewer than 300 are still alive.  Nearly half the survivors and more than 1,000 family members will travel to Washington to receive the recognition they deserve.

Women to be honored with the Congressional Gold Medal from Colorado are Lucile Wise, Arvada; Ruth Brown, Aspen; Elizabeth Pfister, Aspen; Grace Lotowycz, Boulder; Millicent Young, Colorado Springs; Annabelle Moss, Grand Junction; Doris Tracy, La Veta; Kathryn Gunderson, Lakewood; Josephine Robinson, Louisville; and Peggy McCaffrey, Montrose.





»Topics in this article

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4