Feb 1, 2010 6:51 PM by Bea Karnes, News First 5

Fremont County receives federal disaster declaration

Fremont is one of six Colorado counties to receive a disaster declaration from the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Fremont County experienced damaging frost and freezing temperatures on Oct. 8-11 of last year.

The other counties are all on the Western Slope, which saw a wet spring turn into a very dry summer, damaging crops in Mesa, Montezuma, Dolores, San Miguel and Montrose counties.

The disaster designation means farm operators in those areas are eligible for emergency loans from the federal Farm Service Agency.


»Topics in this article

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4