Apr 15, 2010 9:22 PM

Falcons Wright named to Lott Trophy watch list

USAFA, Colo. - Air Force defensive back Anthony Wright has been named to the 2010 Lott Trophy Watch List announced Thursday in Newport Beach by Ronnie Lott and the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation.

Wright, who will be a junior in the fall, was a second-team all-Mountain West Conference selection in 2009. He led the conference and ranked sixth nationally with seven interceptions. He set a school record with three interceptions in the Armed Forces Bowl as Air Force beat Houston last season in Fort Worth, Texas. Wright also tied for fourth in the conference in passes defended with 11. The Cleveland, Ohio native scored three touchdowns on the season. He returned interceptions vs. San Diego State and Navy and a punt vs. Army for scores.

Named after Pro Football Hall of Fame member, Ronnie Lott, The Lott Trophy is awarded to college football's Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. Founded in 2004 by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, The Lott Trophy is given to the player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity. Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation and the Legends Coaches which is a distinguished group of former college football head coaches.

The winner, who will be announced at the annual black-tie gala in December, receives $25,000 for his school's general scholarship fund. Three runner-ups each receive $5,000.

The previous winners of the Lott Trophy are 2004 - David Pollack, Georgia; 2005 - DeMeco Ryans, Alabama; 2006 - Dante Hughes, Cal; 2007 - Glenn Dorsey, LSU; 2008 - James Laurinaitis, Ohio State; 2009 - Jerry Hughes, TCU




»Topics in this article

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4