Sports - CU

Aug 19, 2011 1:55 AM by Lee Douglas/CU

Embree names CU football captains

BOULDER - Head coach Jon Embree announced the selection of four captains for his inaugural season as head coach of the University of Colorado, with the group consisting of three seniors and a junior.

Seniors Tyler Hansen and Ryan Miller will serve as the offensive captains, while senior Anthony Perkins and junior Jon Major will have the honors as the defensive captains, as all four were selected in a vote by their teammates Wednesday evening.

Embree also will select a fifth captain for each game, which he said will almost always be based on the previous week's special teams performances or for a special situation that would warrant a player being chosen.

Hansen, who stands 6-1, 215 pounds and hails from Murrieta, Calif., is the first fourth-year quarterback to be named a CU captain since 1987, when Mark Hatcher was tapped by his peers. He joins only Mike Moschetti (1999), Joel Klatt (2004-05) and Cody Hawkins (2010) as quarterbacks who have been picked as season-long captains since Hatcher.

Miller, a 6-8, 295 pound offensive guard who has received some preseason All-America mention, played at Littleton's Columbine High School and with his selection, makes it five in the last six years that an offensive lineman will serve as one CU's captains. He follows Nate Solder (OT, 2010), Daniel Sanders (C, 2008), Tyler Polumbus (OT, 2007) and the last guard to be named, Brian Daniels (2006).

Perkins is a 5-10, 200-pound strong safety who prepped at Northglenn High School; the last safety to serve as a captain was Ryan Walters in 2008. They are the only two since Medford Moorer in 2003; Moorer is now an academic counselor for the Buffs. Perkins is at full-strength after missing the last half of the 2010 season after suffering a season-ending knee injury.

Major, a 6-2, 230-pounder from Ponderosa High School in Parker, will be the first junior captain since Klatt was named for the first of two years in the role in 2004. Major also had his season last fall cut short with a knee injury and is back at 100 percent.

It's the first time as many as three Colorado high school performers will serve as team captains since 2004, when Klatt (Arvada), defensive tackle Matt McChesney (Niwot) and tailback Bobby Purify (Colorado Springs) earned the distinction.

"They were voted on by the players, and I think they made excellent choices for who the leaders of the team will be this year. There's no finer honor that having that kind of respect from your peers."

In addition to announcing CU's captains, Embree also said that senior wide receiver Kyle Cefalo has been placed on scholarship.

Cefalo transferred to Colorado in the spring of 2009 from Wenatchee Community College, where he attended one semester after originally signing out of high school with Oregon State on a baseball scholarship. But his career there was cut short due to an arm injury, so he turned to his next love, football. A teammate of Cody Hawkins at Bishop Kelly High School in Boise, he then decided to follow his friend to Boulder. He caught six passes for 35 yards as junior in 2010, playing in 11 games which included a start in the season opener against Colorado State.

"Since I've been here from day one, Kyle has done it both on and off the field," Embree said. "He works hard and he is a great teammate. He'll be a great contributor for us and I'm happy for him and his family."

"When coach Embree told me, I was speechless at first, but I'm just really excited and happy," Cefalo said. "It's nice when four years of hard work can pay off and the coaches recognize that.

"It was totally out of the blue, coach called me up on stage in front of the whole team. I had no idea what he was going to do. Everybody was really excited, it was really cool to see all my teammates react like they did and give me hugs. It was a great moment."




»Topics in this article

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4