Oct 27, 2010 2:36 AM

Elam and Walker highlight Class of 2011 into Colorado Sports Hall of Fame

DENVER - Longtime Denver Broncos kicker Jason Elam and Colorado Rockies outfielder Larry Walker along with four others have been selected to the Class of 2011 Colorado Sports Hall of Fame.

In addition to Elam and Walker, the selection committee also elected former University of Colorado and Denver Broncos defensive lineman Alfred Williams; former President of the Colorado Rockies Keli McGregor; legendary race car driver Bobby Unser; and Art Berglund for his contributions to USA Hockey.

The six officially will be inducted at the Colorado Sports Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Banquet, Tuesday, April 12th at the Denver Marriott City Center. Please call the Colorado Sports Hall of Fame,, 720-258-3535, for ticket and table information.

Jason Elam was a member of the Broncos from 1993-2007 and won two Super Bowl titles with the club. He retired with the fifth-most field goals (436) and points scored (1,983) in NFL history. A member of the Denver Broncos 50th Anniversary Team, his 236 games played for Denver are a club record and his 15 seasons with the Broncos are tied with center Tom Nalen for the second-most seasons with the team in franchise history behind Pro Football Hall of Fame quarterback John Elway.

Larry Walker played for the Colorado Rockies from 1995-2004 and was the MVP of the National League in 1997. The 5-time All-Star (4 with the Rockies) was also the NL Batting Champion in 1998 (.363), 1999 (.379) and 2001 (.350). He hit 154 homeruns at Coors Field including 8 upper deck shots.

Alfred Williams played football for the University of Colorado from 1987-1990 and went on to play nine years in the NFL (including 4 with the Broncos 1996-1999). In 1990, he won the Butkus Award (best collegiate linebacker) and help lead the Buffaloes to their only National Championship. He remains the all-time sack leader at Colorado with 35. While with the Broncos, he won two Super Bowl Rings in 1997 and 1998. Today he is a popular radio show host in Denver.

Keli McGregor was 47 when he died suddenly on April 20, 2010. McGregor was President of the Colorado Rockies organization for 9 years and had been with the club for 17 years. He was a two sport athlete at Lakewood High School and went on to play football at Colorado State University. At CSU he became an All American and all-Western Athletic Conference tight end from 1982-84. He played in the NFL with the Denver Broncos, Seattle Seahawks, and Indianapolis Colts.

Bobby Unser is a member of one of the greatest families in the history of automotive racing. Born in Colorado Springs in 1934, Unser won the Indianapolis 500 three times (1968, 1975 and 1981). He also won the famed Pikes Peak Hill Climb 13-times. In 1990, Unser was inducted into the International Motorsports hall of Fame.

Art Berglund was a 1963 graduate of Colorado College where he was the leading scorer on the team as a senior. He has been a major contributor to the success of USA Hockey and managed the U.S. National teams from 1973-1975. He served as General Manager for the 1976 and 2002 (silver medal) Olympic teams and for five other national teams from 1985-1990. In 1992, he was awarded the Lester Patrick award by the NHL for his outstanding contributions to the sport of hockey in the United States. Berglund retired from USA Hockey in 2005 but remains a consultant.




»Topics in this article

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4