May 24, 2010 12:51 PM by Bea Karnes, News First 5

Colorado Law Enforcement Memorial Ceremony today

Thirteen new names are being etched into the Colorado Law Enforcement Memorial in Golden. One officer died in 2009--Montrose Police Department Officer David J. Kinterknecht, July 25, 2009. The others are historic, including many from Southern Colorado.

Gov. Bill Ritter has declared Friday Colorado Law Enforcement Day.

The historic names added to the memorial:

Deputy Bill Thompson, Las Animas County Sheriff's Office, February 16, 1888
Officer E. T. Clark, Cripple Creek Police Department, August 9, 1901
Deputy Francisco Garcia, Las Animas County Sheriff's Office, October 19, 1905
Deputy Antonio T. Shelby, Las Animas County Sheriff's Office, April 6, 1908
Night Marshal Harvey Calvin Neese, Cripple Creek Police Department, July 3, 1920
Patrolman Jacob G. Benner, Denver Police Department. February 14, 1938
Chief Deputy Fidel Aguirre, Huerfano County Sheriff's Office, May 15, 1938
Chief Morris Dolan, Cripple Creek Police and Fire Departments, August 23, 1940
Special Agent Dean L. McLaughlin, Union Pacific Railroad Police, April 6, 1977
Special Agent Larry E. Boles, Union Pacific Railroad Police, July 9, 1977
Senior Biologist James Olterman, Wildlife Manager - Colorado Division of Wildlife, September 4, 2002
Special Agent Greg R. Boss, US Postal Service - Office of the Inspector General, November 8, 2005




»Topics in this article

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4