Jul 5, 2010 5:52 PM

Carlos Gonzalez part of All-Star Game Final Vote

American and National League All-Star Team managers Joe Girardi and Charlie Manuel, in conjunction with Major League Baseball, have announced the candidates for the 2010 All-Star Game Final Vote Sponsored by Sprint to be held exclusively on, the official Web site of Major League Baseball, and the individual Club Web sites. This year's ballots include six players on teams currently in first place in their respective divisions and four on teams contending for postseason berths over the season's second half, setting the stage for spirited campaigning for each of the 10 candidates.

The five candidates for the final roster spot on the National League All-Star Team are: Heath Bell of the San Diego Padres; Carlos Gonzalez of the Colorado Rockies; Joey Votto of the Cincinnati Reds; Billy Wagner of the Atlanta Braves; and Ryan Zimmerman of the Washington Nationals.

On the American League side, the five players on the ballot are: Paul Konerko of the Chicago
White Sox; Nick Swisher of the New York Yankees; Kevin Youkilis of the Boston Red Sox; Delmon Young of the Minnesota Twins; and Michael Young of the Texas Rangers.

Fans can continue until balloting concludes at 2 p.m. (MDT) on Thursday, July 8. The winners, as chosen exclusively by online fan voting totals, will be announced on shortly thereafter.

Mobile voting is available exclusively on Sprint, Nextel and Boost capable mobile phones and fans can send the word "Vote" to 1122 to receive the 2010 All-Star Game Final Vote Sponsored by Sprint ballot. Message and data rates may apply.

Originally introduced during this year's online balloting for the elected starters, fans can campaign for their favorite player on the Final Vote ballot through's All-Star Campaign Manager program, tallying points by getting their friends, family and co-workers to vote through social networking, and competing to be recognized as an "official" Final Vote Campaign Manager for any player they helped support.

The All-Star Game Final Vote program has seen nearly 200 million votes cast since its inception in 2002, including last year's record-setting total (68.6 million) when fans chose Brandon Inge of the Detroit Tigers and Shane Victorino of the Philadelphia Phillies. Previous winners of the All-Star Game Final Vote are: Evan Longoria (AL, 2008); Corey Hart (NL, 2008); Hideki Okajima (AL,
2007); Chris Young (NL, 2007); A.J. Pierzynski (AL, 2006); Nomar Garciaparra (NL, 2006); Scott
Podsednik (AL, 2005); Roy Oswalt (NL, 2005); Hideki Matsui (AL, 2004); Bobby Abreu (NL,
2004); Jason Varitek (AL, 2003); Geoff Jenkins (NL, 2003); Johnny Damon (AL, 2002); and
Andruw Jones (NL, 2002).

Cast Your Vote


»Topics in this article

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4