Sports - Air Force

Nov 9, 2010 2:10 AM

Calhoun a semifinalist for Paterno award

Maxwell Football Club President, Ron Jaworski, announced the 2010 Semifinalists for the first annual Joseph V. Paterno Award for Coach of the Year. The list includes a field of 15 candidates for the Paterno Award as selected by a special Maxwell Football Club Advisory Committee.

The award winner is decided on by the committee. To honor the spirit of Coach Paterno's persona, the winner is based on success on the football field, in the classroom and in the community.

The three finalists for the award will be announced on Monday, December 6th. The formal announcement of the award will be made on Saturday, December 18th, 2010.

TCU's Gary Patterson, last year's winner of the George Munger National Coach of the Year, highlights the list of nominees. Oklahoma's Bob Stoops and Virginia Tech's Frank Beamer are two more semifinalists who have also won the Munger Award. Another intriguing nominee is Northwestern's Pat Fitzgerald, who won the Maxwell Club's first two Chuck Bednarik Awards as a player.

Coach Paterno is not eligible for this award.

All Semifinalists are listed in alphabetical order with their school designated

Semifinalists for the 1st Paterno Award

Beamer, Frank, Virginia Polytechnic Institute
Bielema, Bret, University of Wisconsin
Calhoun, Troy, United States Air Force Academy
Ferentz, Kirk University of Iowa
Fitzgerald, Pat, Northwestern University
Harbaugh, Jim, Stanford University
Niumatalolo, Ken, United States Naval Academy
O'Brien, Tom, North Carolina State University
Patterson, Gary, Texas Christian University
Petersen, Chris, Boise State University
Pinkel, Gary, University of Missouri
Shannon, Randy, University of Miami, Florida
Stoops, Bob, University of Oklahoma
Tressel, Jim, Ohio State University
Whittingham, Kyle, University of Utah




»Topics in this article

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4