Sports - CU

Oct 21, 2010 10:07 PM

Buffs will be in Pac-12 South next season

SAN FRANCISCO (AP) - The California schools will be divided when the Pac-12 conference splits into football divisions next year following its recent expansion.

Commissioner Larry Scott said at a news conference in San Francisco on Thursday that UCLA, Southern California, Arizona, Arizona State and conference newcomers Utah and Colorado will make up the Pac-12 South. Stanford, California, Oregon, Oregon State, Washington and Washington State will be in the North.

The conference needed to split into divisions in order to stage a lucrative football title game. There will be no division split in other sports.

Cal and USC have played every year since 1929, while Cal has played UCLA each season since 1933. Stanford has played both Los Angeles schools each year since 1946.

(Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)




»Topics in this article

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4