Aug 20, 2010 10:36 PM

Air Force kicker named to Groza Watch List

USAFA, Colo. - Air Force junior placekicker Erik Soderberg was named to the Watch List for the 2010 Lou Groza Collegiate Placekicker Award, by the Palm Beach County Sports Commission.

Soderberg was a second-team all-Mountain West Conference selection last season as he led the conference and was third in the nation with 1.69 field goals made per game. His 22 made field goals last season are the second most in school history. The Eden Prairie, Minn., native tied a school record with four field goals in the 26-14 win over San Diego State last season. His 48-yard field goal on the road at No. 19 Utah sent the game into overtime. He hit a career-long 50-yarder in the win at Colorado State.

Air Force has had a player on the Groza Watch list twice in the last three years. In 2008, Ryan Harrison was a semifinalist for the award.

Kickers on the Lou Groza Award Watch List were chosen based on statistics from the 2009 season and 2010 pre-season expectations. The Groza Committee will be watching all FBS kickers during the season, and releasing a weekly "Stars of the Week" feature on Accomplishments are tabulated throughout the season and the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award announces its 20 semi-finalists on Friday, October 29, 2010. From this list, a panel of over 300 experts selects the top three (3) finalists for the award by Monday, November 22, 2010. That same group then selects the national winner which will be announced Thursday, December 9, 2010, during the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Award Show, broadcast live from Orlando, FL.

The 19th Annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, presented by the Orange Bowl Committee, recognizes the three (3) finalists during an early week celebration in Palm Beach County, culminating with a gala awards banquet on December 7, prior to joining ESPN in Orlando.

The award is named for National Football League (NFL) Hall of Fame kicker Lou "The Toe" Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns. Groza won four NFL championships with Cleveland and was named NFL Player of the Year in 1954.





»Topics in this article

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4