Sports - Air Force

Aug 12, 2011 2:09 AM by Lee Douglas/USAFA

Air Force hockey schedule released

USAFA, Colo. - The Air Force hockey team opens the 2011-12 regular season in the Icebreaker Classic in Grand Forks, N.D. Air Force will face national power North Dakota on Friday, Oct. 7, at 7:37 p.m. at Engelstad Arena. The Falcons will then face either Boston College or Michigan State on Saturday, Oct. 8, at either 4:07 or 7:37 p.m.

Two exhibition games precede the Icebreaker Classic. AFA will travel to Wenatchee, Wash., for an exhibition game against Simon Fraser University (British Columbia) on Saturday, Oct. 1. The Falcons open the home schedule with an exhibition game against McGill University (Montreal) on Monday, Oct. 3 at 6:05 p.m. at the Cadet Ice Arena.

The league schedule begins on Oct. 14 when the Falcons host the Purple Eagles of Niagara University at 7:05 p.m. at Cadet Ice Arena. As members of the 12-team Atlantic Hockey Association, the Falcons will play a 27-game league schedule. AFA will face Niagara, Robert Morris, RIT, Mercyhurst and Canisius three times each. The Falcons will then face Army, AIC, UConn, Sacred Heart, Holy Cross and Bentley twice.

Air Force is coming off of its fourth AHA Championship and NCAA appearance in the last five years. Air Force was 20-12-6 last season and placed second in the AHA. The Falcons beat RIT, 1-0, in the AHA championship game. AFA's season ended with a 2-1 overtime loss to top-seeded Yale, in the NCAA East Regional. AFA returns nine of the top 11 scorers from last season, including junior Kyle DeLaurell (10-23-33), junior John Kruse (11-18-29), senior Scott Mathis (8-19-27) and senior Paul Weisgarber (13-12-25). The Falcons also return five of the top six defensemen and goaltenders sophomore Jason Torf and senior Stephen Caple. Torf started the final 30 games of the season and his 16 wins were the second most by any freshman goaltender in the nation.

Every regular-season and playoff game will be broadcast live in Colorado Springs on AM 1300 The Sports Animal and will be available online at www.GoAirForceFalcons.com

Air Force Hockey - 2011-12 Schedule

 

Day Date Time Opponent Site

Sat. Oct. 1 5:35 p.m. vs. Simon Fraser (exh.) Wenatchee, WA

Mon. Oct. 3 6:05 p.m. MCGILL UNIVERSITY (exh.) USAFA, Colo.

Fri. Oct. 7 7:37 p.m. at North Dakota& Grand Forks, N.D.

Sat. Oct. 8 4:07/7:37 vs. Boston College/Michigan State& Grand Forks, N.D.

Fri. Oct. 14 7:05 p.m. NIAGARA* USAFA, Colo.

Sun. Oct. 16 5:05 p.m. ROBERT MORRIS* USAFA, Colo.

Fri. Oct. 21 7:05 p.m. at Alabama-Huntsville Huntsville, Ala

Sat. Oct. 22 7:05 p.m. at Alabama-Huntsville Huntsville, Ala.

Sat. Oct. 29 7:05 p.m. CANISIUS* USAFA, Colo

Fri. Nov. 4 7:05 p.m. SACRED HEART* USAFA, Colo.

Sat. Nov. 5 7:35 p.m. SACRED HEART* USAFA, Colo.

Fri. Nov. 11 7:05 p.m. at RIT* Rochester, N.Y.

Sat. Nov. 12 7:05 p.m. at Mercyhurst* Erie, Pa.

Fri. Nov. 25 7:05 p.m. UCONN* USAFA, Colo.

Sat. Nov. 26 7:05 p.m. UCONN* USAFA, Colo.

Fri. Dec. 2 7:05 p.m. at AIC* Springfield, Mass.

Sat. Dec. 3 7:05 p.m. at AIC* Springfield, Mass.

Fri. Dec. 30 7:37 p.m. at Colorado College Colorado Springs, Colo.

Sat. Dec. 31 6:05 p.m. DENVER USAFA, Colo.

Fri. Jan. 6 7:05 p.m. at Holy Cross* Worcester, Mass.

Sat. Jan. 7 7:05 p.m. at Holy Cross* Worcester, Mass.

Fri. Jan. 13 7:05 p.m. BENTLEY* USAFA, Colo.

Sat. Jan. 14 7:05 p.m. BENTLEY* USAFA, Colo.

Fri. Jan. 20 7:05 p.m. at Army* West Point, N.Y.

Sat. Jan. 21 7:05 p.m. at Army* West Point, N.Y.

Sun. Jan. 29 4:05 p.m. at Canisius* Buffalo, N.Y.

Mon. Jan. 30 7:05 p.m. at Canisius* Buffalo, N.Y.

Fri. Feb. 3 7:05 p.m. RIT* USAFA, Colo.

Sat. Feb. 4 7:05 p.m. RIT* USAFA, Colo.

Fri. Feb. 10 7:05 p.m. at Niagara* Niagara, N.Y.

Sat. Feb. 11 7:05 p.m. at Niagara* Niagara, N.Y.

Fri. Feb. 17 7:05 p.m. MERCYHURST* USAFA, Colo.

Sat. Feb. 18 7:05 p.m. MERCYHURST* USAFA, Colo.

Fri. Feb. 24 7:05 p.m. at Robert Morris* Pittsburgh, Pa.

Sat. Feb. 25 7:05 p.m. at Robert Morris* Pittsburgh, Pa.

Fri-Sun. March 2-4 TBA AHA Play-In Games (Best of Three) TBA

Fri-Sun. March 9-11 TBA AHA Quarter-Finals (Best of Three) TBA

Fri-Sat. March 16-17 TBA AHA Final Four Rochester, N.Y.

Fri-Sun. March 23-25 TBA NCAA Regionals

(Bridgeport, Conn.,Green Bay, Wisc., St. Paul, Minn., Worcester, Mass.)

 

HOME GAMES IN ALL CAPS

*Atlantic Hockey Association game

& Icebreaker Classic in Grand Forks, N.D.

Dates and times subject to change

All times are local to site

 

 

»Comments

»Topics in this article

More News

Weather - Forecast
Story Photo

6 hours ago

Warm Till Saturday

Temperatures start to climb again for Friday and Saturday where many locations will be in the 70s. However, by Saturday, the clouds...

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4