Nov 5, 2013 4:59 PM by Juice Godfrey

11 Colorado counties vote on creating 51st state

GREELEY, Colo. (AP) - Voters in 11 Colorado counties are deciding whether to break away and form a 51st state.

The vote is taking place in the northeastern Colorado counties of Cheyenne, Elbert, Lincoln, Logan, Kit Carson, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Weld, and Yuma. People in Moffat County in the northwestern corner of the state are also voting on whether to secede.

Weld County commissioners who are spearheading the effort say their movement to create a new state called North Colorado is prompted by a growing disconnect between rural and urban areas.

The push is largely symbolic. Even if voters pass the measures, Colorado's Legislature and Congress must approve the creation of a new state, which is considered unlikely.


More News

Weather - Forecast
Story Photo

7 hours ago

Playing Dodgeball with Showers

Scattered showers and a few thunderstorms have developed across southern Colorado Saturday afternoon. The chance for rain will remain in the forecast...

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4